Two Eagle Air Pilots Standing Next To An Aircraft

Commercial Pilot License

Commercial pilot licence (CPL), is a type of license that permits the holder to get paid for working as a pilot of an aircraft.

Course Requirements

The basic requirements to obtain the license and the privileges are agreed internationally by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). However, the actual implementation varies quite widely from country to country. According to ICAO, to be eligible for a commercial pilot license, the applicant must;

PPL Holder

Already hold a private pilot license.


Able to understand and communicate in English.


Had training in the areas of a commercial pilot.

Complete Exams

Successfully complete the relevant written exams.

The CPL is basically a more advanced PPL, requiring greater accuracy in flying and a higher standard of airmanship. The holder of a CPL is able to act as pilot in command of a small piston-engine aircraft that holds less than 9 passengers for commercial purposes such as revenue flights in visual conditions (VMC). The minimum age to hold a CPL is 18 years old.

How many subjects should students pass to get CPL?

Theoretical Exams

Towards the end of the course, you will have to demonstrate a sufficient level of theoretical knowledge testing center in the form of a written test. To pass the commercial pilot written examination you need to achieve a score of at least 75% in 9 subjects. This test must be done before the Check Ride.

Practical Exams

The final aeronautical knowledge and practical test is the check ride. It will be taken at the end of all the training which consists of an oral and practical exam. Once the student passes this exam, he/she will obtain the Commercial Pilot License.

ATPL frozen:

You must have also passed the following fourteen ATPL theoretical examinations with a pass mark of 75% or greater: